Home > Weekly Blog Posts > Blog 15

Blog 15

Over the past couple weeks I have struggled to understand fandom. Although we have discussed it so much during class, I am still trying to understand what fuels fandom and how fans create their own texts in order to interact with each other and place their mark on a certain show’s fan base. As I have done research for my final paper, I have gained a better understanding of fandom and fan texts. Sandvoss’s article has also been very helpful in my understanding of the subject.

For me, the most interesting but difficult quote that we had to choose from was “Fandom constitutes an (problematic) engagement in which all of a text’s aesthetic value lies with its reader; however, aesthetic values manifested in the act of reading persist (Sandvoss 31-2).” Although this quote is complicated and has a lot of meaning behind it, I examined the article to try to understand it to the best of my ability.

A very important idea to understand about the aesthetic values of text is that is it is the interaction between the author, text, and reader that aesthetic value springs from (Sandvoss). I think this goes back to the idea of intertextuality and the fact that no text exists alone. We need a point of reference (the other texts) in order to categorize specific texts. This intertextuality automatically generates in interaction between the author, the text, and the reader. It is important that readers feel a connection with the text that keeps them coming back for more. As I have begun my research for my project, I can understand why this interaction is so important. There are so many different options to choose from as far as fan works.

I have started to realize that in order to gain popularity amongst other fans, the text must be aesthetically pleasing to a large enough group of people. Keeping this in mind, each author must consider its target audience. In doing so, the author may be able to make some sort of connection with his target audience and gain an understanding of what the readers will like. This is very difficult because aesthetic value is a completely subjective measure of beauty and worth.

Going back to the quote, I think explains that fandom popularity comes solely from the reader. It is up to the readers within a fan base to determine what should be written and how it should be written because with out the readers’ approval, success is unlikely. Although this is the case, each reader will have his own opinions and aesthetic values. Somehow, enough people appreciate similar aesthetic values which makes it possible for a text to appeal to many people but also confines authors to certain guidelines. These certain guidelines and aesthetic values then live on as a reference for future authors.

Sandvoss, Cornel.  “The Death of the Reader: Literary Theory and the Study of Texts in Popular Culture.” Fandom: Identities and Communities in a Mediated World.  Ed. Jonathan Gray, Cornell Sandvoss and C. Lee Harrington.  New York: NYUP, 2007.

Categories: Weekly Blog Posts
  1. Emilee Smith
    April 19, 2011 at 1:31 am

    I completely understand where you are coming from when you say you have been struggling to understand Fandom. When we first started to discuss this concept in class, I did not think it would be so difficult to understand. But as we discussed it in more depth, I realized there was a major complexity to this term. One of the most important concepts is the aesthetic value of the text and that no text exists without the relationship between the fans and the book. I think that many people and some authors get caught up in the target audience that you mentioned later in your blog. This could be detrimental to the text because a target audience may not be as obvious as the author thinks. So there is much more to these fandom sites than just who the book was intended for. In fact, many of the fans on the site are simply there to see what the bustle is about. If the other fans have created interesting things to read about, these “unintentional fans” will find themselves deeply intrigued.

  2. cstemen
    April 19, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I think you did a really great job of analyzing this idea. You broke it down into easy to understand ideas and actually helped me understand it quite a bit more. One thing I really liked that you pointed out was the idea of fans writing to please other fans through a target audience. When I first heard of fan-fiction I assumed it was probably just stories written by fans to play out there own interests in the show. I had no idea that what they really sought was approval from other fans. It is really interesting to see this interaction and how what one person takes from a text can be received by a larger group of people.

    Something else you pointed out that interested me was fan-fiction becoming a reference point. Just as we learned with genres, one genre cannot exist without other genres to compare/contrast it to. The same seems to be true here. As you said, not only can these texts be compared to each other, but they can also give other authors an idea of what characteristics are successful within a fan community.

  3. Heather
    April 21, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I think we’ve definitely all struggled a bit with the concept of fandom. It’s difficult to get a full understanding of why people do what they do. The term is very complex because you have the idea of “death of the author”. The more iterations that people make of a text, the closer we get to the death of the author…if that makes any sense. It’s funny to hear about all the different spin-offs of movies, shows, books, etc. Pride and Prejudice, for example, has so many spin-offs and iterations that I have lost track of them all! I don’t think that fandom will ever go away. Looks like we’d better get an understanding of it…and quick! 😉

    • ehenely
      April 21, 2011 at 3:25 pm

      props on using the winky face

  4. ehenely
    April 21, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    I like that right off the bat you admit that you have been struggling to understand fandom. I too have been a little confused by it. I guess part of the mystery of it is how anyone can be so supremely dedicated to something. I feel like a lot of times even fans in fandom communities probably don’t fully understand fandom.
    The quote you chose was not my favorite one. However this might have to do with the fact that it is, as you mentioned, a very difficult quote.
    I think one of the principle problems with this quote is that it maintains a careful distinction between actual content, and perception of content. If the text’s aesthetic values are not perceived to be aesthetic, do these values still exist? Or perhaps the values themselves are solely dependent on how readers define them.
    Either way, it is a difficult concept to wrap your head around, and I think you did a very good job of analyzing it.

  5. lilyram8
    April 25, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    It is interesting that you expressed that you have struggled with understanding the concepts surrounding fandom. I have also experienced the same thing. Although we have discussed it in great depth in class when I am confronted with questions on the blog posts or our essay, I often find myself stuck. I understand the definitions of terms such as a urtext or a paratext, except I find myself being confused as to how they apply in the text that I am observing. It is interesting how you brought up what “fuels fandom”. Since fans vary so much in the type of shows they follow or ways they express their love for their shows, it is hard to pinpoint what it is that drives fans exactly. I also agree that it is solely based upon the reader’s approval in determining what and how fans express their feelings.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment