Archive

Archive for March 17, 2011

Brainstorm Ideas Blog

March 17, 2011 Leave a comment

I was brainstorming the genre of comedy. I really wanted to use the Reality television genre, however, I feel as though it will be done too frequently. I think that comedy is a good alternative choice because it is used to so frequently on so many different fronts. I know that it can be a bit of a broad genre so I was thinking about narrowing it down to sitcom comedy and focus more on shows such as Roseanne, Friends, Seinfeld and Everybody Loves Raymond. I know that these shows are widely enjoyed by their audiences and have an element about them that makes them timeless. I am intrigued to really study this and go more in depth into the genre.

In addition to sitcom comedy, I also thought about doing live comedy shows such as Saturday Night Live.  I feel like this would be a very different genre to explore and could be very interesting as well. I know there are a lot fewer of these types of shows and that’s the reason I would love to explore them. This genre combines the reality television and the broad comedy genre, and forms into one.

Both of these options were very intriguing to me. I am starting to do deeper research on each subject to figure out which one I want to really dive into.

Categories: Uncategorized

Essay 2

March 17, 2011 Leave a comment

For the second essay I have decided to write about sitcoms. For my first essay I focused more on reality television, and more specifically, “Jersey Shore”. When writing the essay I tried to compile way too many subjects into one work, and ended up falling short of the outcome I had hoped to achieve. For this next essay I am going to write about the sitcom, “The Brady Bunch”. Sitcom genres have been seen to immensely change and form new molds over time.  I think that “The Brady Bunch” qualifies as one of the genre’s original works. We have covered many of these changes in class, and I fully intend to incorporate them into my paper.  I also anticipate to find an abundance of outside sources that I can use to strengthen my paper as well. I think that “The Brady Bunch” can be seen as a classic sitcom, and I am very excited to explore the genre as well as the show!

Categories: Uncategorized